Monday, January 26, 2015

Three Brothers by Nicole Williams ~ Review

I grew up with three brothers. They weren’t tied to me by blood, but our connection went beyond genetics or bearing the same last name. Our connection was forged the summer I turned thirteen, the summer my mom ended her life and left me in the custody of John Armstrong, a man I’d never met. Packing all I owned in a couple of boxes, I left the familiarity of the big city and headed west to Red Mountain Ranch, set in a lonely valley outside of Jackson Hole.

Nothing was as it seemed at Red Mountain—it didn’t take long for me to figure that out. John was kind to me but distant, as if he was afraid to let anyone get too close. His three teenage sons had their own devices for keeping love as far away as they could. The eldest distracted himself with cheap relationships that had a shelf-life of one night. The middle son threw himself into the rigor of running a ranch, and the third wielded cruelty and mind-games in his quest to keep people from getting close.

Time has gone by, and I’ve spent those years trying to forget the brother I’d fallen for—the biggest mistake of my life.

Finally, I’ve moved on. Finally, I’m back. But what I didn’t realize was that running away from the wrong brother meant I’d also run away from the right one. The one who’d been there for me all along, waiting in his brother’s shadow for the day I either would or could move on.

But a decade is a long time to wait. Has the brother I should have chosen all of those years ago moved on too? Am I about to discover that my biggest mistake wasn’t falling in love with the wrong brother, but failing to return the love of the right one sooner?

Does unrequited love have an expiration date?

I’m about to find out.

Author’s Note: This book is a “sweet” romance that isn’t overly sexy. Fans of Lost & Found will be interested in Three Brothers.


This book is an emotional journey for one girl who has been so effected by one family.  It was clear her relationship with Conn was toxic.  His cruel comments and hurtful actions both in the past and during the book are hard to understand.  I'm not sure I ever understood why he was so messed up.  It was hinted at but I so wished to understand him better.  But his personality had me cheering for Chance.

It seemed so clear that Chance loved Scout.  His tender care for her showed his feeling completely.  Everyone teases him that he's perfect and I'm thinking that's true.  He holds the family, the ranch and especially Scout together.

I adore Chase.  He's sweet and suffering.  I wish there as a happy for that boy.  But at least he found Wolf.  Loved that little fir ball and how he attached himself to Chase.  I loved John too.  I hurt for him.  He had so much pain in his life.  But his sons were great men and that spoke so much to him.

The story was different.  A curse, some tense emotions, a secret and a sweet romance make up this one.  It does move slower than some books but it fit the cowboy feel of the book and the need to fix emotional wounds.  I enjoyed that the romance was not the story so much as the healing, the revealing and the recover.  It felt real for that reason.

It has the same feel of this authors Lost & Found series.  It's a sweet story that leaves the sexy behind closed doors.  I enjoyed that.


About the Author...

I’m the New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author of the CRASH series (HarperTeen, S&S UK), LOST & FOUND series, UP IN FLAMES (S&S UK), The EDEN TRILOGY, and a handful of others. I write stories about everyday kinds of people who find themselves in extraordinary kinds of situations. I tell love stories with happy endings because I believe in making the world a better place, and that’s one tiny way I can make it so. I’m one of those people who still believe in true love and soul mates, and would rather keep my head in the clouds any day over having my feet firmly on the ground.


  1. I really can't wait to dive into this one. I always love Nicole's books and I especially love her Lost & Found series so that makes me really excited for this one. Great review!

  2. Love Nicole's writing. Hoping to get to this one soon.