Friday, January 8, 2016

Never Tear Us Apart by Monica Murphy ~ Review Tour

Never Tear Us Apart (Never Tear Us Apart, #1)Source: Print ARC won from the author & e-ARC provided in exchange for a fair and honest review.

Never Tear Us Apart (Never Tear Us Apart #1) by Monica Murphy

Perfect for readers of Colleen Hoover, Jay Crownover, and K. A. Tucker, the first novel in this darkly sexy contemporary series from bestselling author Monica Murphy kicks off an emotionally powerful two-part tale of forbidden love.

Crazy how eight years can disappear in an instant. One look at Katie Watts, and I’m a fifteen-year-old again—the one who risked everything to save a terrified girl from her twisted kidnapper. She’s grown-up now—beautiful, quiet, composed—and telling her story to the world. A story that involves me in more ways than you can imagine. She used to call me her guardian angel. Sure, I risked my life, but she was worth dying for.

I need to make contact with her. Just to ensure that she’s safe.

Somehow we reconnect. We become friends . . . but I want more. I want to make her mine. And she wants me too. Does she know who I am? Has she figured me out? Not yet. But she will. In the meantime, I need to make sure that whatever hold that animal had on her is gone.

So, yeah, I’m stealing these moments with her. Savoring them. Knowing, dreading, that she’ll soon find out who I really am. And everything will fall apart. All because of that twisted, perverted monster sitting on death row. Her kidnapper. A convicted serial killer.

My father.


I've been excited about this book for a good long while. Like, basically since the first blurb was released. I've been freaking out, excited, all around DYING to get my hands on this book. So finally having it in my hands and reading it is super awesome for a couple of reasons. One, hello, I finally got to read this beauty! And two, this book was so beautiful and fantastic!

One of the biggest draws to this book for me was the connection between the characters. Katie and Will are two people brought together by something--someone--terrible. It was interesting to see how huge of a role they each played to one another. Will was Katie's protector, the person to help her when she thought no help would be found. Katie was someone who needed Will's help, who suffered at the hands of the same person he was stuck with and quickly became someone he cared about deeply. That connection was formed so quick, and it held so strong.

The Katie and Will of the present are still as bonded as ever. Sure, they don't begin in contact, but that does not change the depth of their bond. Something as big as what they went through doesn't just disappear over time. It only strengthens their connection. They understand each other in a way no one else could ever understand. I LOVED that. It made these characters so in sync and truly perfect together. 

Their story is told in dual POV, between the past and present. Monica Murphy did a great job of transitioning between these two times and voices while weaving a solid and addicting story. Once the book begins, it was so difficult to put the book down and focus on anything else. It weighed on my mind and heart, and I wanted nothing more than to dive back in and unravel more of Will and Katie's story. 

I adored pretty much all of this story. It was heavy and dark, but it was also so addicting. The only gripe I have was that I kind of wish the truth about some things had come out sooner. This doesn't take a lot away from the book or anything, but it was pressing on my mind and I just wanted them to own up to the truth and be together and happy and all that fun stuff. 

Overall, Never Tear Us Apart is a beautifully written love story that may not be conventional, but it's wholly stunning and powerful. I am so looking forward to getting my hands on the conclusion to Will and Katie's story!

4 stars - Monica Murphy has woven a beautiful love story that may not be conventional, but is entirely stunning and powerful.

About the Author...

New York Times, USA Today and international bestselling author Monica Murphy is a native Californian who lives in the foothills below Yosemite with her husband and three children. She's a workaholic who loves her job. When she's not busy writing, she also loves to read and travel with her family. She writes new adult and contemporary romance and is published with Bantam and Avon. She also writes romance as USA Today bestselling author Karen Erickson.

No comments:

Post a Comment