Tuesday, December 2, 2014

Now Available ~ Owning Violet by Monica Murphy ~ Review & Giveaway

Source:  Received an eBook copy in exchange for a fair and honest review.

Owning Violet (The Fowler Sisters, #1) by Monica Murphy

New York Times bestselling author Monica Murphy begins a sexy new contemporary romance series—perfect for fans of Christina Lauren and Emma Chase—that introduces three sisters born to wealth, raised to succeed, ready to love, destined to make waves.

I’ve moved through life doing what’s expected of me. I’m the middle daughter, the dutiful daughter. The one who braved a vicious attack and survived. The one who devoted herself to her family’s business empire. The one who met an ambitious man and fell in love. We were going to run Fleur Cosmetics together, Zachary and I.

Until he got a promotion and left me in the dust. Maybe it’s for the best, between his disloyalty and his wandering eye. But another man was waiting for me. Wanting me. He too has an overwhelming thirst for success, just like Zachary—perhaps even more so. He’s also ruthless. And mysterious. I know nothing about Ryder McKay beyond that he makes me feel things I’ve never felt before.

One stolen moment, a kiss, a touch . . . and I’m hooked. Ryder’s like a powerful drug, and I’m an addict who doesn’t want to be cured. He tells me his intentions aren’t pure, and I believe him. For once, I don’t care. I’m willing to risk everything just to be with him. Including my heart. My soul.

My everything.




Characters.  I really didn't liked either Ryder or Violet at the beginning of the book.  Both of them were doing things that rubbed me the wrong way.  Ryder comes from a really crumby upbringing.  Pilar saves him but won't let him go either.  They've cooked up a scheme and I don't like it.  Violet is letting her boyfriend walk all over her.  I don't like that either.  So I started the book really not liking either of them.

Oh course, I never ended up liking Zachary or Pilar.  Both of them are made to hate.  Zachary and his cheating ways.  Pilar is the center of all the problems.  But I'm supposed to hate them.

Throughout the story, Ryder and Violet develop a relationship.  It may have started as something else but it changes.  Little things that start to make me change my mind about them start popping up.  Concern for each other, kindness, help and feelings all change their relationship.  I grow to cheer for them.

Story.  It's a long one, 400 pages, but I read it in about a day.  There was this drama going on behind the sexy times between Ryder and Violet that I wanted to figure out.  So many lies.  So many changes in allegiance.  I was interested in figuring it all out.  Some is still not clear.  I have lots of questions.  I wonder about a certain idea that Ryder had for a new line of products.  I want to know about that.  I wonder about Pilar's relationship.  That one is gonna have to come up in book two.  I wonder about a character that just got out of jail.  I wonder about Zachary and where he landed.  I did enjoy the ending for Ryder and Violet.  They are good together.  Their private lives are a little rougher that I like to read about but they are well suited for each other.

Writing.  I enjoy this authors writing.  She's good at dealing with twisted issues.   This one pushed that for her.  Lots of lies to keeps straight.  It was well written.

Afterglow.  It definitely has me wanting to read the next one to see if any of my wonders will have some answers.  I'm happy about this couple.

This book will appeal to peeps that go for the erotic side of romance with a side of rough.


About the Series...


Owning Violet ~ Now Available
Stealing Rose ~ Available 3/3/15
Taming Lily ~ Available 7/7/15

About the Author...

New York Times, USA Today and international bestselling author Monica Murphy is a native Californian who lives in the foothills below Yosemite with her husband and three children. She’s a workaholic who loves her job. When she’s not busy writing, she also loves to read and travel with her family. She writes new adult and contemporary romance and is published with Bantam and Avon. She also writes romance as USA Today bestselling author Karen Erickson, and is published with Samhain Publishing and Entangled Brazen and Bliss.
Representation: All questions regarding subsidiary rights for any of her books and inquiries regarding foreign translation should be directed to her agent Kimberly Whalen.



Have one paperback copy to give away!

Open to US and Canada 

a Rafflecopter giveaway


  1. I have been seeing some mixed reviews on this one especially around the characters but it sounds interesting. I do like the sound of all the twists and turns though. Great review.

  2. This sounds like an interesting read... Sounds like a lot of people aren't happy with the characters in the beginning. Great review though!

    Naomi @ Nomi’s Paranormal Palace