Monday, November 24, 2014

Anomaly by Tonya Kuper ~ Review

Source:  Received an eBook copy in exchange for a fair and honest review. 

Anomaly Schrodinger's Consortium, #1) by Tonya Kuper

Reality is only an illusion.
Except for those who can control it…

Worst. Birthday. Ever.

My first boyfriend dumped me—happy birthday, Josie!—my dad is who knows where, I have some weird virus that makes me want to hurl, and now my ex is licking another girl’s tonsils. Oh, and I’m officially the same age as my brother was when he died. Yeah, today is about as fun-filled as the swamps of Dagobah. But then weird things start happening…

Like I make something materialize just by thinking about it.

When hottily-hot badass Reid Wentworth shows up on a motorcycle, everything changes. Like, everything. Who I am. My family. What really happened to my brother. Existence. I am Oculi, and I have the ability to change reality with my thoughts. Now Reid, in all his hotness, is charged with guiding and protecting me as I begin learning how to bend reality. And he’s the only thing standing between me and the secret organization that wants me dead…


Oh, how I've missed a good YA book.  And this one is definitely a good one.  Such great strong characters, a unique story and a few twists along the way - it was just what I needed to be excited about reading YA again.

Characters.  Josie is the perfect strong main character.  She's smart and resistent.  She's overwhelmed with the things happening around her but she's rising to the occasion.  Her mistakes teach her.  AND she's falling for the gorgeous, bada$$ trainer.  I love Reid.  All his secrets that are really just efforts to protect Josie.  His determination to protect her and prepare her plus his feeling for her make him adorable.  I so loved that it was dual POV.  I loved being in Reid's head.  Knowing pieces of his secrets and his reactions to Josie really added to my love of this one.

Story.  This story is different.  It has a lot of science and some nerdy references to sci fi movies that I adored in it.  But I've never read a story quite like this one.  Oculi and secret organization with people who can push and retract or BOTH - anomalies, it's really unique.  When the twists bounced out, I was surprised but I have a feeling the end of the surprises is not past.  Yes, this is the first in a series and this story is far from over.  I did like the ending.  And I will be reading the next.  This one flew by - reading this long book in mostly a night...well and into the morning.

Writing.  This is a debut book.  I thought the writing was good.  It could have used some polish here and there and I may have caught a couple mistakes but I was reading an ARC.  I think we will see great things from this author.  I'm definitely reading more from her.

Afterglow.  Yeah, I couldn't put it down and I really would have liked book two when I finished.   AND I have no idea when book two will even have a title let along a cover and words.  *cries*  It's been a long time since a YA book captivated me this much.

Fans of JLA and Cassandra Clare will love this book.  But it's really the kind of YA book that would appeal to anyone who loves a great paranormal story.


About the Author...

Tonya Kuper's debut, ANOMALY, the first in the Schrodinger's Consortium young adult scifi trilogy, releases November 25, 2014 by Entangled Teen. She lives in Omaha, NE with her two rad boys and husband, is a music junkie, and a chocolate addict. Star Wars & Sherlock fan.


  1. I do love a good paranormal story so I think I will like this a lot
    GREAT review, doll!
    Your reader,
    Soma R.

  2. I haven't read a good real paranormal YA in a while but I really should cause I usually love them. This sounds like a good one. Great review!

  3. Nice review. I've recently started to get back into YA novels again. Mainly because they can be so different from what everyone else is writing about. I will have to add this to my list.
    Kristin @ Book Sniffers Anonymous

  4. It is great to see that this one got you hooked. Fantastic first book in the series!

    Naomi @ Nomi’s Paranormal Palace