Monday, February 18, 2019

A Curse So Dark And Lonely by Brigid Kemmerer ~ Review & ARC giveaway



An instant New York Times Best Seller! In a lush, contemporary fantasy retelling of Beauty and the Beast, Brigid Kemmerer gives readers another compulsively readable romance perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer.

Fall in love, break the curse.
It once seemed so easy to Prince Rhen, the heir to Emberfall. Cursed by a powerful enchantress to repeat the autumn of his eighteenth year over and over, he knew he could be saved if a girl fell for him. But that was before he learned that at the end of each autumn, he would turn into a vicious beast hell-bent on destruction. That was before he destroyed his castle, his family, and every last shred of hope.

Nothing has ever been easy for Harper Lacy. With her father long gone, her mother dying, and her brother barely holding their family together while constantly underestimating her because of her cerebral palsy, she learned to be tough enough to survive. But when she tries to save someone else on the streets of Washington, DC, she's instead somehow sucked into Rhen's cursed world.

Break the curse, save the kingdom.

A prince? A monster? A curse? Harper doesn't know where she is or what to believe. But as she spends time with Rhen in this enchanted land, she begins to understand what's at stake. And as Rhen realizes Harper is not just another girl to charm, his hope comes flooding back. But powerful forces are standing against Emberfall . . . and it will take more than a broken curse to save Harper, Rhen, and his people from utter ruin.





It's been a really long time since a book grabbed hold of me the way this one did.  I was sucked into the pages and stuck there until all 496 pages were devoured.  And then I paced around because I want book 2.  I need more.  This book will hold you well after the last page is read.  I keep thinking about the story.  The characters.  The land they lived in.  They own me and I miss them.  I want to start again and read it over.  I long for more.

Harper is from Washington DC.  Her life is less than good.  She tries to help take her of her mother who is suffering from cancer and look out for her brother who is just trying to help them survive.  One night she is doing just that when she is sucked into an enchanted world.  A world with it's own problems and people she begins to care for.  But nothing is as it seems and any hope she has of getting back to help her family or even help the people of Emberfall is slim at best.

I love Harper.  She struggles with cerebral palsy but she doesn't let it define her.  It doesn't matter that things are impossible, she tries anyway.  She stands up to a Prince, a enchantress and a guardsman.  A Princess she is not but a champion she becomes.  I love her spunk.  She's determined to learn to protect herself.  She learns too.  She speaks her mind and she does what she believes is right.  She rocks it.

As for Rhen, he is in an impossible position.  He may have been an arrogant a$$ when this curse began but that has been tortured out of him.  I want to slap Lilith for her stupid curse.  She's just a spoiled brat that didn't get her way.  Too bad she has some magic that makes Rhen's life miserable.  He's tried very hard to break the curse.  The guilt he feels for each failure is a huge weight upon him.  His concern is for his people.  And I love him for it.  Whatever Harper ends up feeling, Rhen loves her.  And my heart breaks for him.

There is also Gray.  It's not a love triangle, really but there is something.  It's hard to explain.  This man, though, he is honorable.  He cares for Rhen.  He's loyal to him.  I fell for him hard.  And I hope there is more about him in the next book.  I need more about him.  There is not a cliffhanger so much as a plot line not finished or the weavings of a second story left to tempt us.  The major part of the story is resolved.  I just...I need that second story.  And a year is a long time to long for more.

The writing is amazing.  I was startled several times by things that never even occurred to me.  The twists and turns right up to the very end capture your attention and hold you in the story.  The characters are real and you are cheering for them.  The hatred for Lilith is a real thing.   I wish her more than death.  When an author can pull my emotions so strongly into the story, the writing is amazing.

Rhen does not try to romance Harper.  There is some but she is leery of it.  It is their banter, their alliance, their friendship and finally their trust that leads them to each other.  It is a different kind of romance.  The rest is a slow burn that is sweet and true.

This book, this world, these characters have woven itself in my heart and I can't wait for more!





                                             



Val's giving away her ACR copy!
It's SIGNED!

US only



25 comments:

  1. This is my favorite fairytale, love Beauty and the Beast!!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Cinderella is my favorite. I like Rapunzel too.

    ReplyDelete
  3. My favorite fairy tale is Peter Pan.

    ReplyDelete
  4. My favorite fairy tale is Cinderella.

    ReplyDelete
  5. "This story is a retelling of Beauty and the Beast. What's your favorite Fairy Tale?" Beauty and the Beast, because the Cocteau film is very good and Walter Crane did wonderful illustrations.

    ReplyDelete
  6. I really like the Rapunzel fairy tale. Love that she is able to do so much with great hair!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Loved your review and you've convinced me I'm going to love the story:)

    ReplyDelete
  8. It is a toss up between Snow White, Cinderella, Beauty and the Beast, and more.

    ReplyDelete
  9. I cannot wait to read this one! I adore Beauty and the Beast so I'm excited for this retelling. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  10. Beauty and the Beast is my all time favorite fairy tale. I have recently started reading retellings.

    ReplyDelete
  11. My favorite fairy tale is Snow White. I love them all though, and re-tellings are so much fun!

    ReplyDelete
  12. Snow White is my favorite fairy tale love to read it.

    ReplyDelete
  13. Cinderella and Beauty and the Beast

    ReplyDelete
  14. Beauty & the Beast has always been my favorite!! My mom raised us on Disney movies, so I really love them all <3

    ReplyDelete
  15. I really like Hansel and Gretel.

    ReplyDelete
  16. Beauty And The Beast is my favorite fairytale.

    ReplyDelete
  17. I know it it not original but Beauty and The Beast. Now if it was a favorite Disney movie it would be The Great Mouse Detective.

    ReplyDelete