Tuesday, November 12, 2019

Stuck In Books Featured Releases & Giveaway

From Berkley...

How To Lose a Guy in 10 Days gets a millennial makeover in this romantic comedy by USA Today bestselling author Andie J. Christopher.

Jack Nolan is a gentleman, a journalist, and unlucky in love. His viral success has pigeon-holed him as the how-to guy for a buzzy, internet media company instead of covering hard-hitting politics. Fed up with his fluffy articles and the app-based dating scene as well, he strikes a deal with his boss to write a final piece de resistance: How to Lose a Girl. Easier said than done when the girl he meets is Hannah Mayfield, and he's not sure he wants her to dump him.

Hannah is an extremely successful event planner who's focused on climbing the career ladder. Her firm is one of the most prestigious in the city, and she's determined to secure her next promotion. But Hannah has a bit of an image problem. She needs to show her boss that she has range, including planning dreaded, romantic weddings. Enter Jack. He’s the perfect man to date for a couple weeks to prove to her boss that she’s not scared of feelings.

Before Jack and Hannah know it, their fake relationship starts to feel all too real—and neither of them can stand to lose each other.





Not the Girl You Marry by Andie J. Christopher
  
Some dipshit with twinkling green eyes wasn’t going to stop Hannah Mayfield from raining holy hell on the bros swiping left on the girls standing right next to them. Two of whom happened to be her best friends.

His tousled dirty-blond hair and the muscles straining his shirt’s buttons didn’t make her want to throw a drink in his face any less, and they weren’t about to stop her from curb stomping his buddies. Didn’t matter that the goofy fucking smile on his face said he couldn’t read the room. She was about to de-ball all three of these assholes, and he was smiling. Maybe he was missing more brain cells than the average young professional man in Chicago—which is to say all of them.

“What the hell is your problem?”

Stupid-Sexy Green Eyes answered even though she’d turned her glare on his two bozo friends. “I didn’t say anything.”

No, his deep voice, which rolled over her with the subtlety of a Mack truck, wasn’t one that had been calling all the women on Tinder, including her friends, dogs. But that didn’t stop her from saying, “Well, then. Keep yourself busy sucking a bag of dicks while I disembowel your two friends here.”
Although that was a harsh statement to lob at an innocent bystander, she couldn’t risk showing any weakness in the face of the enemy. And all men were the enemy. Especially the pretty ones who looked at her like she was their favorite slice of cake. Those were the especially dangerous ones: the ones who could seep into her heart, which made it much harder when they left. And they always left—usually because they just didn’t want anything serious right now.

“Why are you so angry?” He seemed genuinely perplexed, and, honestly, she didn’t know why she was so angry either. It wasn’t like she was on dating apps anymore. She’d given it the college try, but every petty humiliation suffered on those apps felt like a stab to the gut. And even when she’d met a few guys for drinks, she’d felt like she’d been at the worst audition for the worst reality show in the world. She didn’t understand how people ever actually made it to sex with someone they’d never met before.

Probably drinks. Lots and lots of drinks.

“I’m pissed because they”—she pointed at Sasha and Kelly—“forced me to come to this hipster nightmare for drinks after I’d been working all damned day.” She’d only been guilted into it because Kelly, a management consultant, was in town for the first time in months.

“The shoes.” Green Eyes’ gaze dipped to her feet.

“Not your business.” She hated how warm his slow perusal of her made her feel, as though he’d already seen her naked. It was creepy, and she ought to have called him out. And the warmth melted some of her righteous indignation on behalf of her friends. Not the plan here.

“Working on a Saturday?”

“Event planner.”

“Spent all day dealing with a bridezilla?” He took a sip of his drink, and she didn’t roll her eyes at his stupid, sexist comment. The amber liquid rolling from the glass to his mouth was much more fascinating.

“That’s a dumb, sexist thing to say when I’m already pissed.” As if the only thing that event planners did was plan weddings. True, she wanted to plan weddings because that was where the money was, but she did so much more.

Then the stupid asshole smiled at her again. “Back to that.”

She was surprised that at least half the panties in the room didn’t incinerate under the force of his grin. Good God. He was so pretty that it hurt. Features cut from stone and stubble not quite artful enough to be on purpose. Drinking bourbon with his shirtsleeves rolled up. He was citified masculinity that wasn’t quite civilized. A contradiction, and the kind of thing Hannah went crazy for. The dimples that bisected the stubble had a feral quality that made her want to touch him.

He’d moved a little closer since she’d turned around ready to tear his buddies apart. They’d retreated, but he’d advanced. It was kind of sexy that he wasn’t afraid of her, that he didn’t buy her painstakingly cultivated bitchy exterior. His lack of fear was working on her in a major way, and that terrified her. After Noah, she’d sworn to herself that she wouldn’t be foolish enough to believe that someone could want her for something other than a few rolls between the sheets, and a Hey, babe, that was fun, but I’m just not looking for a girlfriend right now.

Because they were never looking for a girlfriend, especially not her as a girlfriend.

That didn’t hurt anymore. It didn’t. She’d accepted that she was just not the kind of girl men romanced. With her ethnically ambiguous looks, bawdy sense of humor, and filthy mind, men wanted to have sex with her. And then—once they realized that she wasn’t entirely domesticated—they wanted her to disappear.

She had to remind herself of this, make it her mantra whenever this man was near. Never forget that men were the enemy, regardless of how friggin’ sexy his smile was.

He stepped even closer, leaving only half a foot of space between them. Hannah clocked Kelly and Sasha in her peripheral vision. They’d moved over to one of the stand-up tables.

Great. Neither of them believed her when she said that she was done with dating and romance and men for good. Their seeing her charmed by the prime cut of Chicago man-meat in front of her would not do at all. And yet, she couldn’t seem to turn around and run away.

Maybe she should slap him. He hadn’t done anything slap-worthy, but he had her cornered. In the middle of a crowded bar, with multiple options for egress, she was pinned in place because he’d smiled at her.

“What’s your name?” His voice softened, and she broke eye contact.

She looked around; his friends had made themselves scarce as well. “Hannah.” She looked at his chest when she told him. Meeting his gaze was too intimate and it made her cheeks flush.

“I’m Jack.”

That was a very good name. It made her think of hard liquor and sex.

“Of course you are.” Damn, he smelled delicious. Like freshly showered man draped in freshly laundered shirt. With a little bit of citrus and bourbon on his breath. It was like a lethal dose of bro, but it appealed to her despite her struggle to maintain her antipathy along with her dignity.

His laugh surprised her. “Hannah, tell me something.”

She didn’t respond but made eye contact again. Mistake.

“Can I get you another drink?”

Extra Giveaway from the publisher!

US addresses only

a Rafflecopter giveaway


From Avon Books...


If you like bad-boy heroes, western settings, and a sexy, sassy heroine you will love Jennifer Ryan's newest Wild Rose Ranch book! Perfect for fans of Diana Palmer, Linda Lael Miller, and Jodi Thomas.

One minute down-on-his-luck rancher Austin Hubbard slept soundly, the next, a sassy spitfire dumped a pitcher of water on his head and woke him up—in more ways than one. Hired to help him rebuild his ranch, Sonya Tucker ends up helping him put the tattered pieces of his life back together. The capable, all-business accountant is on a mission to get the ranch up and running, but can he convince the temptingly beautiful woman to take a chance on him?

Sonya was dismayed that Austin had lost it all: money, family, respectability. Things she—who’d been raised by her mother at Nevada’s notorious brothel Wild Rose Ranch—only dreamed about. But working with the long, lean cowboy shows her that Austin is honorable to his core. Together they slowly grow to see what the love between them might bring.

But then Austin’s powder keg of a family feud explodes, exposing long-buried secrets, and threatening their new-found love…



INT as long as you can accept an Amazon Gift Card



a Rafflecopter giveaway


14 comments:

  1. The former book interests me more.

    ReplyDelete
  2. The cover attracts me to this book.

    ReplyDelete
  3. The fake dating trope is one of my favorites.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Not the Girl You Marry is higher on my reading list.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Not the Girl You Marry sounds like a book I will enjoy reading.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Not the Girl You Marry has a very cute cover.

    ReplyDelete
  7. "What draws you to this book?" The topic of event planning!

    ReplyDelete
  8. The moment I hit the word "dipshit" in the excerpt, I knew this would be the book for me. I love the storyline and I can't wait to read this one.

    ReplyDelete
  9. cover, Not the Girl You Marry

    ReplyDelete
  10. Not The Girl You Marry looks cute.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Jennifer Ryan writes great cowboys!

    ReplyDelete