Thursday, October 13, 2016

Just Fine With Caroline by Annie England Noblin

Source:  Received copy from the publisher in exchange for a fair and honest review. 

From the author of Sit! Stay! Speak! comes a tender, terrific novel complete with long-buried secrets, a three-legged pot belly pig, and an irresistible dog—an unforgettable story about love, friendship, and community. Perfect for fans of Mary Kay Andrews and Mary Alice Monroe.

Caroline O’Connor never dreamed she’d be back home in Cold River, Missouri, the Ozark Mountain town where everyone is ‘up your business.’…they mean well as they drive you crazy. She thought she’d left town for good, but now she’s back, helping to care for her New York born mother—struck with Alzheimer’s, and prone to saying and doing anything—and her father, the beloved local doctor frustrated he can’t cure his own wife.

As for Caroline, she’s doing ‘just fine’ coping with her parents, her brazen cousin Ava Dawn’s marital disasters, her mostly-deaf dog…and with Noah Cranwell, far-flung relative of a local family mostly infamous for running moonshine, an ex-veteran who’s come to Cold River with troubles of his own.

Caroline believes she knows everything about Cold River and the people who live in its hills and hollers … but sometimes life’s greatest surprises happen closest to home.

Just Fine With Caroline is all heart. Annie England Noblin knows how to make characters come to life. I was completely charmed on my trip to Cold River.”—Stephanie Evanovich


A charming story that captures the feel of a small town well.

Both Caroline and Noah are strong characters that are making their way through life across the street from each other.  Caroline is trying to help her parents with their bait shop as her mother suffers from Alzheimer's.  She left college early despite her fathers wishes to the contrary, her life is anything but fine.  She feels real, typical of women trying to get through things as best they can.

Add Noah.  He's appeared at the gas station across the street that has sat empty for years.  He's impossible to miss and Caroline thinks she's stoping him from breaking in when she meets him the first time.  It was interesting to see Noah try to find a place in this small town after having grown up in a city.  He's used to faster and this town runs on slow.

I enjoyed the story and the dog.  Yeah.  I love the dog, Yari.  She's a tough one, this dog.  And I liked her firry spirt despite her issues.

The story develops through the daily life of a small town.  Living their lives at their own pace and finding the joys of life, this is a typical rural town.  But the real story here is in the history of this town.  There are secrets to be dug up and relationships to be developed.  

With great writing, this small town story is full of real life.


Annie England Noblin lives with her son, husband, and three dogs in the Missouri Ozarks. She graduated with an M.A. in creative writing from Missouri State University and currently teaches English and communications for Arkansas State University in Mountain Home, Arkansas. Her poetry has been featured in such publications as the Red Booth Review and the Moon City Review. She spends her free time playing make-believe, feeding stray cats, and working with animal shelters across the country to save homeless dogs.

Praise for Annie England Noblin

“Readers of Debbie Macomber will enjoy poet and nonfiction author Noblin’s first novel. It’s an enjoyable story full of laughter, tears, and just plain fun.”— Library Journal on Sit! Stay! Speak! 

“Noblin’s fish-out-of-water story combines food, family, suspense, and romance into one delightful read. [... ] a comfort read that’s perfect for a summer night. A cozy read that’s full of dogs, romance, and small-town charm.”— Kirkus Reviews on Sit! Stay! Speak! 

“Full of southern charm and colloquialisms, Noblin’s first novel explores the curious bond between man and beast. A warm, emotionally grounded story that will delight fans of Mary Kay Andrews and contemporary women’s fiction.”— Booklist on Sit! Stay! Speak!­­

No comments:

Post a Comment