Wednesday, August 10, 2016

The Reader (Sea of Ink and Gold series, #1) by Traci Chee ~ Excerpt, Spotlight & Giveaway



THE READER
Book 1 in Sea of Ink and Gold series
By Traci Chee
Release: September 13, 2016

A stunning debut set in a world where reading is unheard-of, perfect for fans of Inkheart and Shadow and Bone.

Sefia knows what it means to survive. After her father is brutally murdered, she flees into the wilderness with her aunt Nin, who teaches her to hunt, track, and steal. But when Nin is kidnapped, leaving Sefia completely alone, none of her survival skills can help her discover where Nin’s been taken, or if she’s even alive. The only clue to both her aunt’s disappearance and her father’s murder is the odd rectangular object her father left behind, an object she comes to realize is a book—a marvelous item unheard of in her otherwise illiterate society. With the help of this book, and the aid of a mysterious stranger with dark secrets of his own, Sefia sets out to rescue her aunt and find out what really happened the day her father was killed—and punish the people responsible.

With overlapping stories of swashbuckling pirates and merciless assassins, The Reader is a brilliantly told adventure from an extraordinary new talent.




From Val...

Sefia, from The Reader,  lives in a world without books.  What are the books that you absolutely could not live without?

Books are so important to me, I'm not sure I could live without them.  Most people know that Jennifer L Armentrout is my favorite author so any books on my "can't live without" list would include something from her.  I tend to "live" happily in paranormal books the most.  They help me ignore things around me better.  So I'd pick one of her paranormal series'.  I think I'd pick the Covenant series because it's nice and long with a spin-off to.  I could start at one end and spend days hidden in it before I got to the end.  Yep, gonna go with that.

What about you?




ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Traci Chee is an author of speculative fiction for teens. An all-around word geek, she loves book arts and art books, poetry and paper crafts, though she also dabbles at piano playing, egg painting, and hosting potluck game nights for family and friends. She studied literature and creative writing at UC Santa Cruz and earned a master of arts degree from San Francisco State University. Traci grew up in a small town with more cows than people, and now feels most at home in the mountains, scaling switchbacks and happening upon hidden highland lakes. She lives in California with her fast-fast dog. The Reader is her YA debut.


LEARN MORE
Visit PenguinTeen.com
Follow @TraciChee on Twitter
#TheReader

Read an excerpt of the first two chapters





Giveaway

“I AM THE READER” GIVEAWAY PRIZING
One (1) winner from your site receives:

·         a copy of The Reader

·         a branded “I Am The Reader” tote bag


Giveaway open to US addresses only.
Prizing and samples provided by Penguin Random House.



Penguin Random House sent me this title, and is also providing a prize pack for one winner from my site.





a Rafflecopter giveaway

21 comments:

  1. The books I could absolutely not live without are Inkheart, The Mortal Instruments, The Immortal Rules and Stalking Jack The Ripper

    ReplyDelete
  2. I could not live without my Harry Potter books. Percy Jackson, Katniss, Anne of Avonlea and Laura Ingalls Wilder are my comfort reading. Nancy Drew led me to Agatha Christie and there are many days that I have to find a quiet corner to dip into a cozy mystery. I realized a long time ago that I would be unhappy if I could never read another book.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I could not live without the Harry Potter books. I feel like I see something new every single time!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I couldn't live without my Nora Roberts books

    ReplyDelete
  5. I couldn't live without my Nora Roberts books

    ReplyDelete
  6. I couldn't live without my Nora Roberts books.

    ReplyDelete
  7. I couldn't live without my Nora Roberts books.

    ReplyDelete
  8. I have to go with the books I re-read the most: Pride and Prejudice, Twilight, Obsidian by Jennifer Armentrout, and Breakable by Tammara Webber. Thanks!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Aw, I love your JLA answer! She is my favorite author also, but I would have to pick the LUX Series. I'm beyond obsessed with Daemon and Katy! And with his book included, that makes the series feel even longer. But you get the Titan spinoff with Seth *I want that one too* hmmmmm maybe I can just choose any and all books by JLA! ;)

    ReplyDelete
  10. The books I couldn't live without are the Newbery award winning books and runner ups. These are inspirational for my own writing.

    ReplyDelete
  11. I could not live without the Harry Potter series. It has done so much for me in my life and I could reread it endlessly.

    ReplyDelete
  12. I couldn't live without my bible.

    ReplyDelete
  13. i could not live without the anne of green gables she was my gateway to reading love her.

    ReplyDelete
  14. I couldn't live without books either. I like all genres.

    ReplyDelete
  15. I couldn't live without ANY books. I have 3 going at all times (audio, ebook & a physical book)

    ReplyDelete
  16. I couldn't live without any of my books both my tablet for ebooks and my physical books. I read all genres. I've been walking around literally with my nose stuck in a book ever since I learned how to read!😀 Lol I'm so thankful that I had teachers who encouraged and impressed the importance and joy of reading on us. That advice just stuck like glue to me because I always just felt like my books were my adventures. Reading has always been fun and it still is! <3

    ReplyDelete
  17. I'm a Potterhead. Always have been. My pre-teen and teen years would not have been the same if these books did not exist in my life. Hermione in book one was someone I could relate to, and Ron from book 1-7, I felt was me. The side kick. Each book was like air to me, gave me life.

    ReplyDelete
  18. I'm. Major ShadowHunters Girl. I love and couldn't live without Cassandra Clare's The Mortal Instruments and Infernal Devices ❤️

    ReplyDelete
  19. I don't have any in mind. As long as I have something.

    ReplyDelete
  20. I don't have a book I can't live without because my to read pile is too big- but if I could only read one series for the rest of my life it would be Harry Potter because it was the series that got me reading. I hated reading growing up until high school when I read Potter. But I truely can't live with out my kindle- it has thousands of books on! So if I could take one thing it would be my kindle (and an outlet and power cord! ;) )

    ReplyDelete
  21. There are too many to name! I just need to live with all the books!!

    ReplyDelete