Tuesday, June 9, 2015

The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi ~ Review

The Night We Said YesSource: Print ARC provided by the publisher in exchange for a fair and honest review.

The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi

A fun, romantic read, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Susane Colasanti!

Before Matt, Ella had a plan. Get over a no-good ex-boyfriend. Graduate from high school without any more distractions. Move away from Orlando, Florida, where she’s lived her entire life.

But Matt—the cute, shy, bespectacled bass player who just moved to town—was never part of that plan.

And neither was attending a party that was crashed by the cops just minutes after they arrived. Or spending an entire night saying “yes” to every crazy, fun thing they could think of.

Then Matt abruptly left town, and he broke not only Ella’s heart but those of their best friends, too. So when he shows up a year later with a plan of his own—to relive the night that brought them together—Ella isn’t sure whether Matt’s worth a second chance. Or if re-creating the past can help them create a different future.

In alternating then and now chapters, debut author Lauren Gibaldi crafts a charming, romantic story of first loves, lifelong friendships, uncovered secrets, and, ultimately, finding out how to be brave.

*Available June 16th, 2015 from Harper Teen*


When asked what my most anticipated debut novel was for 2015, this book was my answer. At the time, I just remember seeing the cover and reading the title and thinking that it sounded awesome and looked like fun. A night we said yes? I am so in. Then when I was looking for a WOW earlier this year, I came across this again and saw the description--"perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Susane Colasanti!" UM HELLO. HI. I am a huge fan of both of those authors. If I wasn't already sold on the book by that point (which I was, but whatever), I would have been making even more intense grabby hands. So then I got this book in the mail and happy-danced all over the place. And THEN... I read it. I read this beautiful piece of words. And I. Loved. It.

One of the most prominent aspects of this story is how it is told--in alternating timelines between a year ago and the present. It was both fun and fascinating to see where the characters were NOW, and then to see how similar and different the night a year ago was. One storyline is hopeful from beginning to end, with Matt and Ella getting together. The other is more broken, but healing and that's where their growth is. Put together, the two nights made the most stunning story.

Another high point for this novel was how realistic the characters were. Ella is a normal teenage girl, going about her life as best as she can. Matt is awkward and lovable but definitely not perfect (aka, communication issues). Meg and Jake...well, they were a whole other brand of conflicted, but I loved them, too. The four friends together were great and all-around realistic--Barker and Gabby, too. They made mistakes, they said things they didn't mean, but they were a tight group of friends. I so admire that.

I have dubbed Matt and Ella the cutest couple ever, so I'm sure you can guess how I felt about the romance. So cute and adorable. They had awkward moments, and they had sweet moments, and just in general these two warmed my heart. I ship it. I ship it all day every day. Cutest. Couple. EVER.

Overall, The Night We Said Yes is a sweet, beautiful debut novel, and I will certainly be picking up whatever Lauren Gibaldi has next. If you're looking for a romantic read with the most adorable couple and a heartwarming group of friends, definitely get your hands on this! 

5 stars - A sweet, beautiful debut novel I definitely recommend!


  1. Great review- I want to read this one!

  2. This book looks so great! Thanks for reading & reviewing it... it's been on my watch list all year, but sometimes these things can be disappointing. I'm glad to hear that it lived up to your expectations!

  3. I have this on my to-read list. Great review!

  4. AI love that this one gave you the past and present perspectives, and that the characters were realistic! I love a sweet romance, and a story with a great close-knit group of friends! Lovely Review Jess :)

    Lindy@ A Bookish Escape